welcome

August 7, 2006

This is my first post in what will eventually become the class blog site for one of my three ENG105 sections. By class blog site I mean that this blog will serve as “base camp”–the place to access the syllabus, assignments, and course related news. Ulimately this is the instructor’s blog. Each student will have her/his own blog.

This is my first attempt at blogging in a writing class and my first time using wordpress (my other blog is hosted over at blogger.com). Having a class blog is my attempt at NOT utilitzing the proprietary software (Blackboard) purchased by the institution.

Blogging as I set up the class will allow me to play with wordpress and get accustomed to using it, so that I can teach my students how to use it, although some of them may already be bloggers and may have a thing or two to teach me. Blogging this process also gives me a forum for articulating my pedagogy–both in theory and in practice–explaining myself as I enact what I’m doing and want my students to do.

Leave a comment